Krav Maga Self Defense Training Grading System

Krav Maga grading system is divided into 3 main categories; Practitioner, Graduate and Expert levels. They can also participate in IKMF workshops/seminars and testing worldwide by simply producing their IKMF Passport which they receive after taking their first grading. Most Krav Maga students are ready for their first grading after 3-6 months of training (mandatory minimum) and thereafter every 6 months (subject to regular and intensive training).

IKMF gradings are conducted by expert members of the IKMF global training team. conduct extensive pre-grading programmes and mock gradings to ensure students are fully prepared. If we don’t think you are ready to grade, then we won’t ask you to grade. Although gradings aren’t the end all and be all of student progression, they do provide an indication of the student’s ability to defend themselves at that period of time. We teach to the principles of Krav Maga. Our goal is to prepare you to defend yourself against real attacks, more so than earning patches.


  • These are practitioner grading levels for Krav Maga students.
  • The grading levels are every 3/4 months.
  • The Students’ uniforms have white trim & logos on black attire.
  • Their grading patches are gold with black bars representing their level i.e. 2 bar = Practitioner Level 2 (P2).
  • The Practitioner Levels of Krav Maga are the core of the system.

Students learn how to defend against the most common attacks, as well as building on their fighting skills and learning how to avoid a situation or what to do after a confrontation. Training also improves fitness, strength, flexibility and mental determination.


  • These are mainly Krav Maga instructors who wear red trim & logos on black attire.
  • There may also be G level students who have not taken the instructor’s certification, thus don’t wear red trimmed uniforms.
  • The grading patches are cobalt blue with black bars representing their level i.e. 1 bar = Graduate Level 1 (G1).
  • Students are eligible to move into the Graduate program 6 months after completing their P5 grade.

More advanced skills are taught at G level, including dealing with more complicated situations. Students are expected to have a full understanding of all the P grades and continue to keep those skills at a high level whilst progressing through the Graduate program.


  • These are high level instructors.
  • Usually specialising or assisting in other areas such as Police, Special Units or Military instruction, in addition to their civilian qualification.
  • Expert Instructors’ uniforms have gold trim & logos.
  • Their grading patches are gold with red bars.